K-ON2! Character Image Songs – Hirasawa Yui – Review

Hey, this is chikorita157, the author of Chikorita157’s Anime Blog. I was moved by the events that happened in its last episode of K-ON!! since it brought me a lot of happiness. On the same day, I got an idea of reviewing Yui’s character single since she is a popular character in the show and would be fun to review the latest single from her voice actor, Toyosaki Aki. So, without further ado, sit back and enjoy what I have to say about the single.

Album Title: K-ON!! Character Image Songs – Hirasawa Yui
Anime Title: K-ON!!
Artist: Toyosaki Aki
Catalog Number: PCCG-1065
Release Type: Character Single
Release Date: September 19, 2010
Purchase at: CDJapan

Track Title Artist Time
1. Oh My Gitah!! Toyosaki Aki 4:14
2. Shiawase Hiyori Toyosaki Aki 3:45
3. Come with Me!! (Yui Ver.) Toyosaki Aki 3:34
4. Oh My Giita!! (Instrumental) 4:14
5. Shiawase Hiyori (Instrumental) 3:45
6. Come with Me!! (Yui Ver.) 3:34

Review: The second season has come to an end, and the girls have finally graduated. It had some emotional scenes that involve Azusa breaking down at the end and the four girls performing a heartwarming “thank you” song at the end to cheer her up. In comparison to the first season, the second season brought some great insert music such as “Pure Pure Heart,” “Gohan ha Okazu,” “U&I,” and “Tenshi ni Furetayo.” Even though Toyosaki Aki may be the weakest out of the four girls at singing, she does rather well when she performs the insert songs (excluding “Pure Pure Heart”); it seems like the only time you can hear the imperfections in her singing is when she performs the opening themes “Go Go Maniac” and “Utauyo!! MIRACLE.”

“Oh My Gitah!” starts off with a strong, catchy intro. However, that is pretty much undone by Toyosaki Aki’s singing 20 seconds in. Compared to “Guitar ni Kubittake,” a song that also dedicated her “Gitah”, “Oh My Gitah!” feels weak because the former had slightly better singing and the instrumentals were exciting. Here, Toyosaki Aki’s performance lacked clarity and it sounded pretty flat. The flatness from her singing does not go well with the energy that the guitar produced, which leaves the impression that the energy was unused and wasted, causing the song to feel dull and boring. As a result, each subsequent listen is less enjoyable than the last until it becomes rather forgettable.

The second song, “Shiawase Hiyori” has the ability to be calm and catchy, yet Toyosaki Aki’s delivery is dull enough that it treads dangerously close to the point of putting me to sleep since her vocals lacked any energy and it did not feel like she was singing. Thirty five seconds into the song, there is a twenty second section where Toyosaki Aki goes slightly out of tune:

Fukufuku koinu fuwafuwa na kumo purantaa no hana ni mo ne
Egao ga koborechau yo doushite ka na?
Wakannai demo ne… ufufu

In a similar section with slightly different lyrics, it happens again at the two-minute mark and after the small monologue, but it is not nearly as noticeable as it was in the beginning. All in all, it’s more mediocre than terrible, mostly because it has some feeling put into it and not executed in an obnoxious fashion like in “KEEPING SMILE” from Anata Shika Mienai.

Lastly, we have Yui’s version of “Come with Me!!,” which is the second season’s version of “Let’s Go!.” Like its analog, the song is catchy and has good instrumentals, making it the best song out of the three on this single. If you noticed in “Let’s Go!”, the chorus in background says “Come with Me!” in the song and it resembles country music. I have to admit, this was probably the best performance from Toyosaki Aki from the whole single since it had energy. However, towards the end of the song (around 3:07), some of the phrases she was trying to sing are not clear. I am not sure if this is due to her singing or the composition, but hopefully it will not be an issue with the other versions of the song. That’s said, I am still pretty interested in seeing how the other characters will perform their version of “Come with Me!!” in their respective singles.

Overall, this album is a disappointment compared to Yui’s character album in the previous season. Besides “Come with Me!!,” the other two songs are either messy or sounded dull. Even though zzeroparicle finds Toyosaki Aki’s singing “sub-par,” I believe that she is a mixed bag. She can sing decently; her performance of the insert songs and the last character single attest to that. Here though, the greatness did not came and I was let down by her lack of effort. She really needs to put more energy and effort to make the song rise above the feeling of mediocrity it currently gives off.

Rating: So-So

[spoiler show=”Youtube Samplers”]



Guest Contributor for Anime Instrumentality Blog... I have a strong preference for Japanese, Classical and Video Game Music. I am the author and owner of Chikorita157's Anime Blog.

7 thoughts on “K-ON2! Character Image Songs – Hirasawa Yui – Review

  • September 26, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Finally got around to listening to it and I’ll say I enjoyed the instrumentals for the first track though I didn’t find the lyrical bursts to be my kind of thing and the changes in the song’s key signature from the main stanzas and the chorus were handled a bit awkwardly. Bridge is pretty jammin’ though.

    Second track was kinda nice and peppy, which in theory should be pretty fitting with Toyosaki’s ability to bring about her bubbly character’s personality to bear. It sounds like Yui, but that’s all I can really say about it. The tempo and delivery is kinda blah and vanilla. Not bad, but could be better since the constant, unchanging rhythm isn’t catchy enough to grab my attention. Definitely a B-side to the core.

    Third track is what track 1 and 2 should turned out to become since the energy it dishes is pretty nice and catchy and manages to hold my attention through its entire run-time.

    It’s about passable with what I expect out of character albums, nothing more, nothing less.

  • September 26, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    Generally, character singles are not really that important compared to the Opening/Insert/Ending themes as they will never be used in the show. Even though the character single wasn’t the greatest compared to the previous, its still better than some of the character singles out there. Especially Haruhi Character Single from the first season, it sounded bad.

  • October 1, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    I listened to a few of the character albums for K-ON! and didn’t really like them. I was expecting something like the OP/ED songs, but got something else instead. 🙁

  • October 2, 2010 at 6:16 am

    It’s very in line with the K-On! feel. Cute and popping, and a little draining. Not the best, but I like it.

  • October 2, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Overall, you can not really expect the character songs to be on the same quality of the OP/ED/Insert Songs. Then again, there was some gems last season like Mugi’s character single from last season. It made me realize that Kotobuki Minako is a rather good singer. In addition, I listened to the latest single, Shiny+ and it was an enjoyable listen.

    From the looks of it so far, it sort of heading the same way that the Haruhi S2 Character Singles headed last year. Then again, I might be wrong.

    The songs are cute yes, but they aren’t the best from what I heard. She could of put more effort to it.

  • October 14, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    It’s very in line with the K-On! feel. Cute and popping, and a little draining. Not the best, but I like it.

  • Pingback:Guest Review: K-ON2! Character Image Songs – Hirasawa Yui - Chikorita157's Anime Blog

Leave a Reply