Sakamichi no Apollon: Kids on the Slope Episode 2

Wow, it’s only the second episode of Sakamichi no Apollon, and I’m already 4 days late? Not a good sign, but I’m only now beginning to realize the brutal pace of weekly episodic posts. On to the episode.

[Read more…]

Ever Thought About Traveling to Japan? Help Out the Japanese Tourism Agency Through This Survey!

If there’s one thing I keep telling people about my grad school experience, it’s that the best part about it is being able to work on a variety of interesting projects, ranging from case competitions to consulting projects on behalf of an organization.

This post is more about the latter. One activity that my grad program requires everyone to take part in is called PRIME, where students take a trip to a country on the Pacific Rim, be it China, Taiwan, South Korea, Latin America, or Japan. Given my interests, it’s not too hard to guess at which destination I opted to go to.

It’s not all fun and games though (but there is fun, possibly games); part of the trip involves taking on a consulting project for a company in the destination country. For example, classmates who travel to South Korea might be working on a problem Samsung is having. My group’s particular project is with the Japanese Tourism Agency where we’ll hope to strengthen Japan’s image as a tourist destination abroad.

But for that, we’ll need some data! My group has created a survey that we hope will give the JTA an idea of what they should focus on. If you get a chance, please do take the time to respond to it. We could use as much information as we can. The survey can be found here:

Thanks ahead of time!

Monday Melodic Musings: The Galaxy Express 999 feat. Niklas Gabrielsson

If you’ve been following us for awhile, it’s probably not too hard to figure us out as big fans of the Platina Jazz anime theme arrangement series. Rasmus Faber and his crew have done great work over the years and their creative interpretations continue to breathe new life into anime themes both new and old, giving us something to marvel at in every measure and phrase.

With the coming of Platina Jazz vol. 3, we’re treated to tracks in the vein of Trigun’s fabulously awesome dueling sax duet in “H.T” and Clannad’sIn the Palm of a Tiny Hand” (Seriously, how does anyone jazzify that piece? It works though, and really well!). And they’ve taken the additional step of creating a music video that departs from the usual depiction of a jazz session as they take to the streets and trains. You can check out Niklas Gabrielsson’s photogeneticity as he performs “The Galaxy Express 999″ after the jump: [Read more…]

Sakamichi no Apollon: Kids on the Slope Episode 1

They say expectation is a harbinger of disappointment, and I don’t think it’s unfair to say that I was expecting a lot out of this show. From what we’ve been offered, though, in just this first episode, I already feel like we’re in for something special.

[Read more…]

NHK Special Drama “Saka no Ue no Kumo” Original Soundtrack 2 – Review

Album Title: NHK Special Drama “Saka no Ue no Kumo” Original Soundtrack 2
J-Drama Title: Saka no Ue no Kumo AKA Clouds Over the Hill
Artist: NHK Symphony Orchestra, Sarah Brightman, Joe Hisaishi,
Tokyo New City Orchestra, Maki Mori
Catalog Number: TOCT-27010
Release Type: Soundtrack
Release Date: November 17, 2010
Purchase at: CDJapan, Play-Asia

[Read more…]

%d bloggers like this: