Monday Melodic Musings: The Galaxy Express 999 feat. Niklas Gabrielsson

If you’ve been following us for awhile, it’s probably not too hard to figure us out as big fans of the Platina Jazz anime theme arrangement series. Rasmus Faber and his crew have done great work over the years and their creative interpretations continue to breathe new life into anime themes both new and old, giving us something to marvel at in every measure and phrase.

With the coming of Platina Jazz vol. 3, we’re treated to tracks in the vein of Trigun’s fabulously awesome dueling sax duet in “H.T” and Clannad’sIn the Palm of a Tiny Hand” (Seriously, how does anyone jazzify that piece? It works though, and really well!). And they’ve taken the additional step of creating a music video that departs from the usual depiction of a jazz session as they take to the streets and trains. You can check out Niklas Gabrielsson’s photogeneticity as he performs “The Galaxy Express 999” after the jump: [Read more…]

Sakamichi no Apollon: Kids on the Slope Episode 1

They say expectation is a harbinger of disappointment, and I don’t think it’s unfair to say that I was expecting a lot out of this show. From what we’ve been offered, though, in just this first episode, I already feel like we’re in for something special.

[Read more…]

NHK Special Drama “Saka no Ue no Kumo” Original Soundtrack 2 – Review

Album Title: NHK Special Drama “Saka no Ue no Kumo” Original Soundtrack 2
J-Drama Title: Saka no Ue no Kumo AKA Clouds Over the Hill
Artist: NHK Symphony Orchestra, Sarah Brightman, Joe Hisaishi,
Tokyo New City Orchestra, Maki Mori
Catalog Number: TOCT-27010
Release Type: Soundtrack
Release Date: November 17, 2010
Purchase at: CDJapan, Play-Asia

[Read more…]

Gokusen : Original Soundtrack Review

Album Title: Gokusen : Original Soundtrack
Drama Title: Gokusen
Artist: Ooshima Michiru
Catalog Number: AVCD-17124
Release Type: Soundtrack
Release Date: June 19, 2002
Purchase at: CDJapan

[Read more…]

A Breakdown of Sakamichi no Apollon’s Preview Trailer, and Introducing Our First Episodic Post Series

The last time Shinichirou Watanabe and Yoko Kanno worked on a show together, it resulted in a little-known show you might have heard of: Cowboy Bebop. I’ll get straight to the point; they’re back. Doing a show together.

About jazz.

[Read more…]

%d bloggers like this: